Seiko “Baby Panda”

I hang out at my watchmaker’s shop regularly and get to see all sorts of watches that people send in for repair. Over the years, I have seen a lot of vintage Seiko’s.

Recently, I saw a vintage Seiko that I thought was pretty rare and worth posting here to share with you. It is a vintage 6138 chronograph (pictured above) or “baby panda” as some call it.

Here’s a caseback shot. From what I heard, the owner of the watch was based in the US. He came back to Singapore during Christmas/New Year holidays and took the opportunity to have the watch serviced by the watchmaker.

There was a “big” Seiko Panda in the shop and I able to take some comparison shots. The Baby Panda is slightly smaller than its big brother.

Here’s a shot of the Panda and its caseback.

Here’s another Seiko Baby Panda I saw at the shop a week later. Unfortunately, the dial did not age very well on this one.

2 thoughts on “Seiko “Baby Panda”

  1. fariz fadzil

    hey the one with brown strap is mine!! 🙂
    i sent 2 6138 panda to K2 for service. black and white dial.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

